8blogberries1.jpg

My husband may hate veggies, but he can tolerate fruit. He doesn’t love fruit, but he manages to get a little bit of fruit into his body now and then. Some cut up banana in vanilla yogurt, yes. A small sliver of apple topped with a generous hunk of cheddar cheese, check. A pulverized fruit smoothie sweetened with honey in the morning, sure. A huge bite of a fresh and juicy pear? Not a chance.

It’s all a texture thing with my husband. Loves tomato sauce, hates tomatoes. Constantly craves blueberry pie, but won’t touch a fresh blueberry. And since there is no way I am gonna sit and watch him devour an entire farmer’s market blueberry pie (a la mode, of course) without diving into the calorie-laden goodness myself, I knew I had to figure out a way to lighten up his fruit enjoyment.

My mission was clear: Find a fruit recipe that was sufficiently desserty, had husband-friendly flavors, and wouldn’t make me feel like Shamu when I ate it with him. Enter the Mixed Berry Crumble.

Mixed Berry Crumble
Serves 6

For the Filling:
½ pint fresh raspberries
½ pint fresh blueberries
1 pint fresh strawberries, quartered
Juice of ½ lemon
1 tablespoon flour
1 tablespoon white sugar
A pinch of kosher salt

 

For the Crumb Topping:
½ stick sweet butter, melted
2 tablespoons “brownulated” sugar
2 tablespoons white sugar
½ cup white flour
Zest of ½ lemon
½ teaspoon baking powder

Step 1: Preheat your oven to 375F. Combine your filling ingredients in a deep pie dish.

1blogberries.jpg

Step 2: In a bowl, combine the crumb topping ingredients. Mix together until you see small and large crumbs.

2blogberries.jpg

Step 3: Cover the filling with the crumb topping. Pop into oven.

5blogberries.jpg

Step 4: After 45 minutes or so, the topping will be slightly browned, and the filling will be nicely bubbling. Remove from oven, and allow to sit for 5 minutes.

6blogberries.jpg

Step 5: Spoon into bowls, and top with a dollop of vanilla yogurt.

7blogberries.jpg

How is it possible I have gotten by on this planet so many (well, not that many) years, and never knew how easy it was to make a crumble? Thanks to Deb at Smitten Kitchen (who also borrowed an idea from Nigella Lawson), now I know. I tinkered a bit with the amounts of butter and sugar, trying to lighten the recipe as much as possible, while still retaining the yumminess. Considering this recipe amounts to a generous 6 servings, I think I did a pretty good job.

Newsflash…berries are super good for you! They are loaded with Vitamin C and fiber (especially the raspberries…it’s the seeds), low in calories, and blueberries rank highest in the list of foods that fight free radicals in the body. Strawberries have also been linked to populations with the lowest cancer rates…just make sure you buy them organic (otherwise, they have the highest concentration of pesticides…and that kind of defeats the purpose, doesn’t it?). Topping this dessert with yogurt really upped the health benefits of the recipe…and who feels guilty topping something with yogurt? Much to my joy, my husband quickly devoured this dessert. This is a recipe I will surely play with and come to again.

Mission Accomplished!

