guacdip1.jpg

This is the OLD site….wouldn’t you rather come visit My Husband Hates Veggies at the hip and happening NEW site?? Clickety Click!

OK, I know.

It’s been like, six months since I shared my Seriously Ridiculously Good Guacamole with you, and that means it has also been six months since I promised you an alternate, lower fat version of a delicious guacamole.

I didn’t forget. I promise. I just got caught up in the whole, well, eating way too much fattening food thing, that I forgot that I owed you (and my waistline) this simple, healthy and delicious recipe that can be used as a dip, a sandwich spread, a healthy base for coleslaw or salad dressing, or maybe even a topping for a leftover slice of Tortilla Pie. Oh, and did I mention that it will even help your body to burn fat?

So without further adieu…

Kitty’s Amazing Fat-Fighting Guacamole

1 ripe Haas avocado
1/4 cup chopped onion
3.5 oz plain low-fat or non-fat yogurt (use Greek if you can! Mmmm….)
1 small handful fresh cilantro, chopped
juice of a quarter fresh lime
Adobo seasoning, to taste

Mash the avocado in a small bowl, along with a generous squeeze of fresh lime. (Believe it or not, the lime is just for taste in this recipe, as the yogurt contains enough acid and friendly bacteria that keep the avocado from oxidizing and turning brown.) Add the remaining ingredients, and mix well.

guacdip2.jpg

There’s no denying the health benefits of a food like avocado. Each one contains over 9 grams of fiber, more potassium than a banana, loads of cholesterol-lowering oleic acid, and plenty of heart-healthy folate. Unfortunately, many people shy away from this magical fruit, cause at 300 calories a pop, 80% of which is fat, (though it is mostly monounsaturated, aka: the good kind), it doesn’t seem like a sensible choice if you are watching your weight. I know I would have no problem polishing off a whole avocado’s worth of regular guacamole at one sitting, and that would be in addition to whatever I was eating it with.

Enter non-fat yogurt (please, buy the real kind, no ingredients like cornstarch or other fillers should be listed on the label.) Not only does it contain a host of immune system-boosting probiotics, but it also raises levels of HDL cholesterol (aka: the good kind.) But the BEST fact I could possibly share with you about yogurt? It actually helps your body to burn fat. Patients in studies eating a yogurt-rich diet show fat loss of 61% more than non-yogurt eaters, and 81% more loss of belly fat. Can low-fat mayonnaise make that claim? I didn’t think so…

So there you have it folks. It’s guacamole. It’s delicious. It’s good for you, and it fights fat.

Check back next week, when I will share with you my secret recipe for a delicious Minestrone soup that also assists you in balancing your checkbook.

